Employee Recognition at a Reasonable Volume: #TChat Preview

Of all movies about work, Office Space sticks in my head as being the best representation of what not to do when managing people — TPS reports, anyone? There’s not one word of genuine recognition in the movie. Yet recognition is perhaps the most powerful motivator of all — even better than money in many cases. And companies often create an absolute link between financial reward and job recognition, a strategy with hard limits. Better alternatives exist.

Of course we think about these subjects at TalentCulture. We’ve counseled employers on how to build recognition programs, and employees on how to achieve recognition. We’re also spending time looking into a variety of automated recognition solutions. Now we’d like to open the discussion to you, our wise TalentCulture community. Here are this week’s questions for #TChat events:

Q1: How can an org be believable in showing positive recognition to its employees?

Q2: When should employee recognition be something other than praise? Should you ever ignore an employee? Why?

Q3: Is employee recognition a driver or outgrowth of employee engagement?

Q4: How does technological innovation facilitate and hinder an org’s ability to recognize its employees?

Q5: Yes, leaders ought to show recognition to their staff, but how can orgs show recognition to their leaders?

Click to see the #TChat Radio preview

One of this week’s #TChat Radio and #TChat Twitter guests is Rob Catalano, Head of Marketing at Achievers (on Twitter at @Achievers), a company dedicated to helping organizations create systems of reward and recognition.

Also joining us is Ted Coine (on Twitter at @TedCoine), recognized author, blogger and social media commentor on leadership, workplace culture, entrepreneurship, and the effect of social channels on business. You can find valuable insights about business leadership at Ted’s latest project, the Switch&Shift blog.

So tune into the radio show on Tuesday, Jan. 15, at 7:30pm ET / 4:30pm PT. And then bring your ideas to the Twitter chat on Wednesday, Jan. 16, from 7-8 pm ET (6-7pm CT, 5-6pm MT, 4-5pm PT, or wherever you are). We’re GRATEFUL for your participation!

image credit: Three Smiling Women, by Graham Crumb
Facebooktwitterlinkedinmail